The Republic known as the Volga German Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic (Sowjetrepublik der Wolgadeutschen) was established in 1918 by the Soviet Union and lasted until the war with Germany in 1941 when the Republic was dissolved and many of the Wolgadeutsche were accused of collaborating with Nazis and were sent to prisons in Siberia or killed. It's capital was Engels, Saratov Oblast.